Tax Assessor: Barbara A. Flaherty, CTA gflaherty@npmail.org
908-769-2906
Administrative Assistant: Rene Harzula  
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday
8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.  Wednesday

OVERVIEW
The Mission of the Assessor’s Office is to maintain a fair and equitable tax base for the community based on sound assessment practices. Our plan is to treat all property types and owners impartially so as to distribute the tax burden equitably.

The Assessor is responsible for identifying and placing a value on every parcel of land within the confines of the Borough’s borders.

The Assessor’s office is a quasi-judicial position whose statutory authority is based in the New Jersey Constitution. Although an employee of the municipality, the Assessor works under the direction of the Somerset County Board of Taxation.

ASSESSMENT NOTIFICATION/APPEAL
In February of each year, “Assessment Notification Postcards” are mailed to each property owner as outlined in N.J.S.A. 54:4-38.1. The postcard notification lists the current year’s assessment as well as the process and deadline for filing an appeal. Please keep in mind that property owners cannot appeal the amount of taxes they pay, but rather the assessment of the property. Tax Appeals must be filed with the Somerset County Board of Taxation

SOMERSET COUNTY TAX BOARD

The Somerset County Tax Board retains assessments and tax maps for all 21 municipalities in Somerset County. It is located in Somerville at 27 Warren Street, 4th floor. The phone number is 908.541.5701

More information can be found here.


IMPORTANT LINKS
Local Property Tax Forms
  • Tax Appeal forms
  • Veterans Deduction
  • Senior Citizens Deduction (has income limits)
  • Disabled Person Deduction (has income limits)
  • Surviving Spouse/Domestic Partner of a Veteran, Senior Citizen, Disabled Person, etc.
  • 100% Permanently and Totally Disabled Veterans and Surviving spouses
  • Tax Exemption for places of worship, parsonages, cemeteries, hospitals, certain non-profit agencies, and any other entity that may qualify 

FAQ
What are my Taxpayer Rights? Tax Bill of Rights Information
When do I call the Collector? - When do I call the Assessor?
The collector can answer questions about tax collections, tax bills, tax payments, interest, sewer bills, etc. Additionally, the Collector can also assist in answering questions pertaining to veteran’s deductions, senior citizen deductions, disabled deductions, and the PTR Senior "Property Tax Freeze" program.

The assessor can answer questions about ownership, block and lot, assessments of land and building, lot sizes, confirm sales prices, etc. The assessor can also assist in answering questions about veteran’s, senior citizens, and disabled deductions.

May I file my tax appeal form with the Assessor’s office?
No. While the municipality gets a copy, the original MUST be filed with the Somerset County Board of Taxation or Tax Court by the applicable filing deadline.
I am appealing my assessment and I feel that I should not have to pay my taxes until my appeal is heard and resolved.
Payment of 1st quarter taxes and other municipal charges is a prerequisite to the appeal process. Your appeal will not be heard unless taxes are paid.
I agree with the land assessment, but I disagree with the building assessment (or the other way around.) Can I appeal one, but not the other?
No. Land and building assessments cannot be appealed separately.
Can I appeal my property tax bill?
No. A tax appeal is NOT an appeal of your tax bill. The amount of taxes you pay is never an issue during an appeal because neither the Tax Assessor nor the County Tax Board has control over budgets submitted by municipalities, counties, schools, or fire districts.
What is the deadline to file an appeal?
The filing deadline is April 1st of the tax year in question. “Filed” means that the appeal form must be RECEIVED on or before April 1st. Date of mailing is not used in determining whether an appeal is timely.
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Sunday 9 May 2021
All day
Mother's Day
Monday 10 May 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael Aaron Rockland
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 11 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
UrbEx 101: Investigating Abandoned New Jersey
Wednesday 12 May 2021
6:30PM - 8:00PM
Penelope The Powerful Parrot
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Beatles: From Liverpool to Abbey Road
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael C. Gabriele
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Monday 17 May 2021
All day
Tax Day
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Garrett M. Graff
Tuesday 18 May 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 19 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Art of Crossword Puzzle Construction
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 20 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Virtual Visit with Charles Lindbergh
Friday 21 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gut Health: Presented by Dr. Cedrick Batchateu
Saturday 22 May 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 24 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Picturing America
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 25 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Stephen Puleo
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 26 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Virtual Trip to Alaska
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 27 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Early Days of Television
Saturday 29 May 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 30 May 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 31 May 2021
All day
Memorial Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Memorial Day Ceremony
Tuesday 1 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
How To Clean Up, Edit, and Share Your Photo Collection
7:30PM
Board of Education
Wednesday 2 June 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 3 June 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Spotted Lanternfly
Friday 4 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Six Pillars of Brain Health
Saturday 5 June 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 4:00PM
Borough-Wide Yard Sale
Sunday 6 June 2021
9:00AM - 4:00PM
Borough-Wide Yard Sale
Tuesday 8 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Historic Houses for Contemporary Lives
Wednesday 9 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Highlights of Central Park
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 10 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Kathleen Butler
Friday 11 June 2021
7:00PM
Flag Retirement Ceremony
Monday 14 June 2021
All day
Flag Day
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Nature Photography and Ideas Beyond the Capture
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Miss Bugbee and the Palisaders
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 16 June 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 17 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
When the News Finally Came: Remembering Juneteenth
Saturday 19 June 2021
All day
Juneteenth
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 20 June 2021
All day
American Eagle Day
All day
Summer Begins!
All day
Father's Day
Monday 21 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: James J.Gigantino II
Tuesday 22 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fred Astaire: An American Icon
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 23 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gardens of the Scottish Highlands
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 24 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
BFFs: Man and Dog in the Classical World
Friday 25 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Princeton: The Nation’s Capital 1783
Saturday 26 June 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 27 June 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 28 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Photographing In and Around New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
8:00PM
Summer Camp Begins!!
Tuesday 29 June 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 30 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Pegi Ballister - Howells
Thursday 1 July 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Sunday 4 July 2021
All day
Independence Day
11:00AM - 12:00PM
4th of July Parade
Monday 5 July 2021
All day
Independence Day Observed Borough hall Closed
Wednesday 7 July 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 10 July 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
5:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Sunday 11 July 2021
5:00PM
Rain Date - Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 12 July 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 14 July 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 17 July 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 20 July 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 21 July 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 24 July 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 25 July 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 27 July 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 28 July 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Wednesday 4 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 5 August 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)