The North Plainfield Police Department is committed to a productive partnership with the community. In an effort to expand that partnership and provide more comprehensive services to the community the North Plainfield Police Department is initiating Operation Watch Dog. This program encourages residents and businesses to register their privately owned home/business video surveillance in efforts to increase safety and reduce crime. The department recognizes that crimes can be committed at any place or time and that home/business video surveillance may have captured vital footage that could help solve crimes in our community. During a criminal investigation our officers are often unaware of the many residences and businesses that have surveillance systems who may have captured footage of value to the investigation. Having knowledge of the location of a surveillance system in the area of a crime could be instrumental in a successful resolution.

There are several benefits to registering with the North Plainfield Police Department Operation Watch Dog. It expedites the retrieval of footage from surveillance systems close to the crime scene in an effort to uncover criminal activity. It also reduces the number of officers assigned to canvass the area around a crime scene for operational surveillance systems. This allows officers assigned to the investigation to be deployed to other tasks in the investigation thereby enabling a higher degree of efficiency of allocated resources. Please note that this program does not give police the ability to tap into any home or business surveillance feeds.

If you are signed up for the Operation Watch Dog and a crime occurs in your neighborhood, you may be contacted by a North Plainfield Police Officer who would ask if you could examine the time frame in question for potential video footage. If your equipment was able to record pertinent information, we would arrange a convenient time and day to retrieve the footage from you.

Your participation in Operation Watch Dog always remains 100% voluntary and your personal information will be kept confidential and not for public dissemination. Only law enforcement personnel can view the surveillance footage.

Operation Watch Dog is just another useful tool which offers residents and businesses the opportunity to partner with the North Plainfield Police Department in the fight against crime throughout the township. If you would like to participate in this program residents and businesses are encouraged to register their cameras at no cost by filling out a short application below.

How it works:

  • Registration:

    This step is easy and takes just a few minutes to complete. You provide contact information and tell us where your cameras are located. There is no cost for registration.

  • Confirmation:

    Once the application is completed, a member of the North Plainfield Police Department who will follow up with you to confirm your information.

  • Call for Assistance:

    The North Plainfield Police will only contact you if there is a criminal incident in the area of your security cameras. Police personnel may request a copy of any video captured by your cameras which may be pertinent to the investigation.

Add Watchdog Registration Information






North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Sunday 9 May 2021
All day
Mother's Day
Monday 10 May 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael Aaron Rockland
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 11 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
UrbEx 101: Investigating Abandoned New Jersey
Wednesday 12 May 2021
6:30PM - 8:00PM
Penelope The Powerful Parrot
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Beatles: From Liverpool to Abbey Road
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael C. Gabriele
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Monday 17 May 2021
All day
Tax Day
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Garrett M. Graff
Tuesday 18 May 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 19 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Art of Crossword Puzzle Construction
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 20 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Virtual Visit with Charles Lindbergh
Friday 21 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gut Health: Presented by Dr. Cedrick Batchateu
Saturday 22 May 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 24 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Picturing America
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 25 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Stephen Puleo
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 26 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Virtual Trip to Alaska
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 27 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Early Days of Television
Saturday 29 May 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 30 May 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 31 May 2021
All day
Memorial Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Memorial Day Ceremony
Tuesday 1 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
How To Clean Up, Edit, and Share Your Photo Collection
7:30PM
Board of Education
Wednesday 2 June 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 3 June 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Spotted Lanternfly
Friday 4 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Six Pillars of Brain Health
Saturday 5 June 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 4:00PM
Borough-Wide Yard Sale
Sunday 6 June 2021
9:00AM - 4:00PM
Borough-Wide Yard Sale
Tuesday 8 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Historic Houses for Contemporary Lives
Wednesday 9 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Highlights of Central Park
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 10 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Kathleen Butler
Friday 11 June 2021
7:00PM
Flag Retirement Ceremony
Monday 14 June 2021
All day
Flag Day
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Nature Photography and Ideas Beyond the Capture
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Miss Bugbee and the Palisaders
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 16 June 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 17 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
When the News Finally Came: Remembering Juneteenth
Saturday 19 June 2021
All day
Juneteenth
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 20 June 2021
All day
American Eagle Day
All day
Summer Begins!
All day
Father's Day
Monday 21 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: James J.Gigantino II
Tuesday 22 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fred Astaire: An American Icon
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 23 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gardens of the Scottish Highlands
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 24 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
BFFs: Man and Dog in the Classical World
Friday 25 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Princeton: The Nation’s Capital 1783
Saturday 26 June 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 27 June 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 28 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Photographing In and Around New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
8:00PM
Summer Camp Begins!!
Tuesday 29 June 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 30 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Pegi Ballister - Howells
Thursday 1 July 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Sunday 4 July 2021
All day
Independence Day
11:00AM - 12:00PM
4th of July Parade
Monday 5 July 2021
All day
Independence Day Observed Borough hall Closed
Wednesday 7 July 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 10 July 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
5:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Sunday 11 July 2021
5:00PM
Rain Date - Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 12 July 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 14 July 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 17 July 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 20 July 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 21 July 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 24 July 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 25 July 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 27 July 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 28 July 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Wednesday 4 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)