• Borough Hall
    • Houses the administration, court, police and fire headquarters and is
    • Address: 263 Somerset Street
    • Main phone #: (908) 769-2900
    • Hours: 8:00am - 4:30pm Monday through Friday

  • Buses
    • New Jersey Transit
    • Bus stops can be found throughout town
    • Arrival at Port Authority Bus Terminal in New York in minutes over an hour
    • NJ Transit bus route 822 serving Green Brook, North Plainfield and Plainfield (including stops at Muhlenburg Hospital and Plainfield train stations)
    • Newark (Broad St. & Washington Park)
      • NJ Transit bus route 65/66
    • New York City
      • NJ Transit's bus line 114 (which also runs an express route 117 along Route 22 or along Route 22 for most of the route during rush hours

  • Community & Senior Citizens Center
    • Address: 614 Greenbrook Road
    • Better recognized by Vermeule Mansion—which shares the property
    • Houses the Camera Museum

  • Library
    • Location: 6 Rockview Avenue
    • Phone: 908-755-7909
    • County Library Administrator: Brian Auger
    • Branch Manager: Christal Blue
    • A branch of the Somerset County Library System



  • Trains
    • Printable Timetables
    • Serviced by the New Jersey Transit Raritan Valley Line into Newark with connecting PATH service into New York City
    • Station to station is minutes over an hour, or just under an hour via express train
    • Local train stations
      • Plainfield
        • Location: 180 North Ave. between Watchung Ave. & Park Ave.
        • Parking Information:
          • Pacific Parking - Daily - (973-669-8777)
          • Plainfield City - Daily/Permit - (908-753-3227)
        • Ticket Vending Machines: 2 Outside of Ticket Office
        • Ticket Office Hours:
          • Located at 420 Cottage Place Plainfield, NJ 07061
          • 5:00AM - 12:30PM (Monday-Friday)
          • CLOSED on Saturday
          • CLOSED on Sunday
          • 10:25AM - 10:45AM (Lunch)
      • Netherwood
        • Location: South Ave. & Belvidere Ave., Plainfield
        • Parking Information: Pacific Parking, Inc - Daily/Permit - (800-430-1104)
      • Dunellen
        • Location: Skinner Plaza, between S. Washington Ave. & Prospect Ave.
        • Parking Information: Dunellen Parking Authority - Daily/Permit - (732-968-3663)
        • Ticket Office Hours:
          • Located at Washington Avenue Dunnellen, NJ 07801
          • 4:45AM - 10:15AM (Monday-Friday)
          • CLOSED on Saturday
          • CLOSED on Sunday
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Friday 13 December 2019
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Monday 16 December 2019
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 17 December 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Comm. - NOTE VENUE CHANGE
7:30PM
Cancelled - Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 18 December 2019
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 19 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest Register by TODAY!
Friday 20 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
Saturday 21 December 2019
All day
WINTER BEGINS!
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Adult Craft: Jewelry Box
Sunday 22 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
Monday 23 December 2019
All day
First Day of Chanuka
Tuesday 24 December 2019
All day
CHRISTMAS EVE- Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 25 December 2019
All day
CHRISTMAS - Borough Hall Closed
Thursday 26 December 2019
All day
KWANZAA
Tuesday 31 December 2019
All day
NEW YEAR'S EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 1 January 2020
All day
NEW YEAR'S DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Monday 6 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Celebrate the New Year with Meditation
Tuesday 7 January 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 8 January 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 9 January 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Monday 13 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 14 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:15PM
Django, Jazz and Bluegrass featuring Blue Jersey Band
Thursday 16 January 2020
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Monday 20 January 2020
All day
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
Tuesday 21 January 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 22 January 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 24 January 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Monday 27 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Monday 3 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 4 February 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Monday 10 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Wednesday 12 February 2020
All day
Lincoln's Birthday
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 February 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Friday 14 February 2020
All day
Valentine's Day
Saturday 15 February 2020
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Adult Craft: Painted Bottle Vase
Monday 17 February 2020
All day
Presidents Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
Tuesday 18 February 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Thursday 20 February 2020
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Monday 24 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 25 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Cooking Class: Instant Pot Beef Stew
Wednesday 26 February 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 28 February 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Saturday 29 February 2020
3:00PM - 4:00PM
Celebrate Black History Month: Concert-From Jazz to Soul
Monday 2 March 2020
All day
Read Across America Day
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Sunday 8 March 2020
2:00AM
Daylight Savings Time Starts!
Monday 9 March 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Wednesday 11 March 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Fri (Excluding Holidays)