• Borough Hall
    • Houses the administration, court, police and fire headquarters and is
    • Address: 263 Somerset Street
    • Main phone #: (908) 769-2900
    • Hours: 8:00am - 4:30pm Monday through Friday

  • Buses
    • New Jersey Transit
    • Bus stops can be found throughout town
    • Arrival at Port Authority Bus Terminal in New York in minutes over an hour
    • NJ Transit bus route 822 serving Green Brook, North Plainfield and Plainfield (including stops at Muhlenburg Hospital and Plainfield train stations)
    • Newark (Broad St. & Washington Park)
      • NJ Transit bus route 65/66
    • New York City
      • NJ Transit's bus line 114 (which also runs an express route 117 along Route 22 or along Route 22 for most of the route during rush hours

  • Community & Senior Citizens Center
    • Address: 614 Greenbrook Road
    • Better recognized by Vermeule Mansion—which shares the property
    • Houses the Camera Museum

  • Library
    • Location: 6 Rockview Avenue
    • Phone: 908-755-7909
    • County Library Administrator: Brian Auger
    • Branch Manager: Christal Blue
    • A branch of the Somerset County Library System



  • Trains
    • Printable Timetables
    • Serviced by the New Jersey Transit Raritan Valley Line into Newark with connecting PATH service into New York City
    • Station to station is minutes over an hour, or just under an hour via express train
    • Local train stations
      • Plainfield
        • Location: 180 North Ave. between Watchung Ave. & Park Ave.
        • Parking Information:
          • Pacific Parking - Daily - (973-669-8777)
          • Plainfield City - Daily/Permit - (908-753-3227)
        • Ticket Vending Machines: 2 Outside of Ticket Office
        • Ticket Office Hours:
          • Located at 420 Cottage Place Plainfield, NJ 07061
          • 5:00AM - 12:30PM (Monday-Friday)
          • CLOSED on Saturday
          • CLOSED on Sunday
          • 10:25AM - 10:45AM (Lunch)
      • Netherwood
        • Location: South Ave. & Belvidere Ave., Plainfield
        • Parking Information: Pacific Parking, Inc - Daily/Permit - (800-430-1104)
      • Dunellen
        • Location: Skinner Plaza, between S. Washington Ave. & Prospect Ave.
        • Parking Information: Dunellen Parking Authority - Daily/Permit - (732-968-3663)
        • Ticket Office Hours:
          • Located at Washington Avenue Dunnellen, NJ 07801
          • 4:45AM - 10:15AM (Monday-Friday)
          • CLOSED on Saturday
          • CLOSED on Sunday
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Thursday 13 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:30PM
Employment Resources for People with Disabilities
Friday 14 August 2020
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Smart DriverTEK workshop: Presented by AARP
Saturday 15 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Tuesday 18 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Transforming Journalism: How Augmented and Virtual Reality are Impacting the News
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 19 August 2020
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 22 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Wednesday 26 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The History of the Great Swamp
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
Thursday 27 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
How to Use Facebook to Increase Your Business
Saturday 29 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Monday 31 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Virtual Readers' Roundtable
Wednesday 2 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 3 September 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 5 September 2020
5:30PM - 10:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 7 September 2020
All day
LABOR DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 9 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 12 September 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
Sunday 13 September 2020
All day
National Grandparents Day
Monday 14 September 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 September 2020
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 16 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 17 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 19 September 2020
All day
Rosh Hashana
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Fall CLEAN COMMUNITY DAY
Tuesday 22 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
Fall Begins
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 23 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 26 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
NP Fall Festival
Monday 28 September 2020
All day
YOM KIPPUR
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Thursday 1 October 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 3 October 2020
All day
1st Day of Sukkot
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
12:00PM - 3:00PM
Senior Picnic
Wednesday 7 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Monday 12 October 2020
All day
Columbus Day - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 13 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 14 October 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 17 October 2020
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
7:00PM - 10:00PM
Optimist Club Wine Tasting
Monday 19 October 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
Tuesday 20 October 2020
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 21 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Sunday 25 October 2020
1:00PM
Halloween Parade
Monday 26 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 28 October 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 31 October 2020
All day
Halloween!
Sunday 1 November 2020
2:00AM
Daylight Savings Time Ends 2am
Tuesday 3 November 2020
2:00AM
ELECTION DAY - Borough Hall Open
Wednesday 4 November 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 5 November 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 November 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
Monday 9 November 2020
All day
VETERANS DAY - Borough Hall Closed
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)
Fridays Between May 28th - Aug 30th:
Borough Offices Will Close 1:30pm