Mayor
Lawrence La Ronde
(908)769-2902
llaronde@npmail.org
Mayor Lawrence La Ronde


The Mayor is responsible for the day to day operations of the Borough as well as ensuring the enforcement of the legislation passed by the Council.

How Our Borough Government Works

There are three sections of the government:

    • Mayor and Administration - responsible for the day to day operations of the Borough.
    • Council - responsible for creating resolutions and ordinances.
    • Board of Education - responsible for the administration of education.

Your tax bill is actually split into two sections:  one that goes to the Board of Education and one that goes to the Borough Administration.  Neither one has any control over the other and the funds are not shared or co-mingled or transferred back and forth in any way.

The following is reproduced with permission of the North Plainfield Democratic Club:


Ordinances

The Borough Council action may take either form of an ordinance or a resolution.  Ordinances are municipal legislation, usually of a permanent effect, enacted by the Council.  There is a specified procedure for passing an ordinance.  First, it must be brought up at an Agenda Session, at which time the Council decides whether or not to introduce it at a public meeting.  The formal introduction, also known as a First Reading, requires four votes.  Following introduction, the ordinance is published in the Courier-News with reprints available at the Borough Clerk's office.  Two weeks later, the item is read again, and a public hearing is held for citizens who want to address the Council on the matter in question.  After the hearing the Council votes upon the ordinance, four votes being required for passage.  The ordinance must then be signed by the Mayor, and takes effect 20 days later.


Resolutions

Many official actions of the Borough may be accomplished by a resolution of the Council.  These include approval of the annual municipal budget, contracts, mayoral appointments, and other miscellaneous matters.  Resolutions, except for the annual municipal budget, do not require a public hearing, or a second reading.   Usually, they are read at the public meeting, voted upon, and take effect immediately.


Privilege of the Floor

Per each Council meeting agenda, a privilege of the floor is granted at the beginning of the Council Agenda Conference Meeting, at the end of every Regular Council Meeting, and at the beginning of all public hearings for ordinances and annual municipal budgets.  At these designated times, any person may address the Council through the Council President on matters of concern.  There is a five (5) minute time limit for each speaker and a person may speak only once at each occasion.  Appropriate times for public comment are clearly marked on the meeting agenda.


Executive Session

Occasionally, the Council may find it necessary to interrupt a public meeting to hold an executive session.  Generally, this is done for matters regarding litigation, contracts, and/or personnel.


Agenda Session

Before an action is taken at a public meeting, it is usually discussed by the Council at an Agenda Session.  Agenda Sessions are work sessions open to the public.

North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Sunday 9 May 2021
All day
Mother's Day
Monday 10 May 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael Aaron Rockland
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 11 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
UrbEx 101: Investigating Abandoned New Jersey
Wednesday 12 May 2021
6:30PM - 8:00PM
Penelope The Powerful Parrot
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Beatles: From Liverpool to Abbey Road
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael C. Gabriele
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Monday 17 May 2021
All day
Tax Day
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Garrett M. Graff
Tuesday 18 May 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 19 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Art of Crossword Puzzle Construction
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 20 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Virtual Visit with Charles Lindbergh
Friday 21 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gut Health: Presented by Dr. Cedrick Batchateu
Saturday 22 May 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 24 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Picturing America
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 25 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Stephen Puleo
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 26 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Virtual Trip to Alaska
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 27 May 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Early Days of Television
Saturday 29 May 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 30 May 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 31 May 2021
All day
Memorial Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Memorial Day Ceremony
Tuesday 1 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
How To Clean Up, Edit, and Share Your Photo Collection
7:30PM
Board of Education
Wednesday 2 June 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 3 June 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Spotted Lanternfly
Friday 4 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Six Pillars of Brain Health
Saturday 5 June 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 4:00PM
Borough-Wide Yard Sale
Sunday 6 June 2021
9:00AM - 4:00PM
Borough-Wide Yard Sale
Tuesday 8 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Historic Houses for Contemporary Lives
Wednesday 9 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Highlights of Central Park
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 10 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Kathleen Butler
Friday 11 June 2021
7:00PM
Flag Retirement Ceremony
Monday 14 June 2021
All day
Flag Day
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Nature Photography and Ideas Beyond the Capture
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Miss Bugbee and the Palisaders
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 16 June 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 17 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
When the News Finally Came: Remembering Juneteenth
Saturday 19 June 2021
All day
Juneteenth
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 20 June 2021
All day
American Eagle Day
All day
Summer Begins!
All day
Father's Day
Monday 21 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: James J.Gigantino II
Tuesday 22 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fred Astaire: An American Icon
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 23 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gardens of the Scottish Highlands
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 24 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
BFFs: Man and Dog in the Classical World
Friday 25 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Princeton: The Nation’s Capital 1783
Saturday 26 June 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 27 June 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 28 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Photographing In and Around New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
8:00PM
Summer Camp Begins!!
Tuesday 29 June 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 30 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Pegi Ballister - Howells
Thursday 1 July 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Sunday 4 July 2021
All day
Independence Day
11:00AM - 12:00PM
4th of July Parade
Monday 5 July 2021
All day
Independence Day Observed Borough hall Closed
Wednesday 7 July 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 10 July 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
5:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Sunday 11 July 2021
5:00PM
Rain Date - Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 12 July 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 14 July 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 17 July 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 20 July 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 21 July 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 24 July 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 25 July 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 27 July 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 28 July 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Wednesday 4 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)