Mayor
Michael Giordano Jr.
Mayor Giordano
The Mayor is responsible for the day to day operations of the Borough as well as ensuring the enforcement of the legislation passed by the Council.

How Our Borough Government Works

There are three sections of the government:

    • Mayor and Administration - responsible for the day to day operations of the Borough.
    • Council - responsible for creating resolutions and ordinances.
    • Board of Education - responsible for the administration of education.

Your tax bill is actually split into two sections:  one that goes to the Board of Education and one that goes to the Borough Administration.  Neither one has any control over the other and the funds are not shared or co-mingled or transferred back and forth in any way.

The following is reproduced with permission of the North Plainfield Democratic Club:


Ordinances

The Borough Council action may take either form of an ordinance or a resolution.  Ordinances are municipal legislation, usually of a permanent effect, enacted by the Council.  There is a specified procedure for passing an ordinance.  First, it must be brought up at an Agenda Session, at which time the Council decides whether or not to introduce it at a public meeting.  The formal introduction, also known as a First Reading, requires four votes.  Following introduction, the ordinance is published in the Courier-News with reprints available at the Borough Clerk's office.  Two weeks later, the item is read again, and a public hearing is held for citizens who want to address the Council on the matter in question.  After the hearing the Council votes upon the ordinance, four votes being required for passage.  The ordinance must then be signed by the Mayor, and takes effect 20 days later.


Resolutions

Many official actions of the Borough may be accomplished by a resolution of the Council.  These include approval of the annual municipal budget, contracts, mayoral appointments, and other miscellaneous matters.  Resolutions, except for the annual municipal budget, do not require a public hearing, or a second reading.   Usually, they are read at the public meeting, voted upon, and take effect immediately.


Privilege of the Floor

Per each Council meeting agenda, a privilege of the floor is granted at the beginning of the Council Agenda Conference Meeting, at the end of every Regular Council Meeting, and at the beginning of all public hearings for ordinances and annual municipal budgets.  At these designated times, any person may address the Council through the Council President on matters of concern.  There is a five (5) minute time limit for each speaker and a person may speak only once at each occasion.  Appropriate times for public comment are clearly marked on the meeting agenda.


Executive Session

Occasionally, the Council may find it necessary to interrupt a public meeting to hold an executive session.  Generally, this is done for matters regarding litigation, contracts, and/or personnel.


Agenda Session

Before an action is taken at a public meeting, it is usually discussed by the Council at an Agenda Session.  Agenda Sessions are work sessions open to the public.

North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Thursday 13 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:30PM
Employment Resources for People with Disabilities
Friday 14 August 2020
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Smart DriverTEK workshop: Presented by AARP
Saturday 15 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Tuesday 18 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Transforming Journalism: How Augmented and Virtual Reality are Impacting the News
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 19 August 2020
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 22 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Wednesday 26 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The History of the Great Swamp
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
Thursday 27 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
How to Use Facebook to Increase Your Business
Saturday 29 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Monday 31 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Virtual Readers' Roundtable
Wednesday 2 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 3 September 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 5 September 2020
5:30PM - 10:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 7 September 2020
All day
LABOR DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 9 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 12 September 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
Sunday 13 September 2020
All day
National Grandparents Day
Monday 14 September 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 September 2020
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 16 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 17 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 19 September 2020
All day
Rosh Hashana
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Fall CLEAN COMMUNITY DAY
Tuesday 22 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
Fall Begins
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 23 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 26 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
NP Fall Festival
Monday 28 September 2020
All day
YOM KIPPUR
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Thursday 1 October 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 3 October 2020
All day
1st Day of Sukkot
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
12:00PM - 3:00PM
Senior Picnic
Wednesday 7 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Monday 12 October 2020
All day
Columbus Day - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 13 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 14 October 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 17 October 2020
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
7:00PM - 10:00PM
Optimist Club Wine Tasting
Monday 19 October 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
Tuesday 20 October 2020
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 21 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Sunday 25 October 2020
1:00PM
Halloween Parade
Monday 26 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 28 October 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 31 October 2020
All day
Halloween!
Sunday 1 November 2020
2:00AM
Daylight Savings Time Ends 2am
Tuesday 3 November 2020
2:00AM
ELECTION DAY - Borough Hall Open
Wednesday 4 November 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 5 November 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 November 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
Monday 9 November 2020
All day
VETERANS DAY - Borough Hall Closed
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)
Fridays Between May 28th - Aug 30th:
Borough Offices Will Close 1:30pm